Port Maria, originally named "Puerto Santa Maria" was the second town established by Spanish settlers in Jamaica. The small rugged town is the parish capital of St. Mary Parish. Several buildings have survived from Port Maria's glory days of being a busy port, including the St Mary Parish Church and the old courthouse. The town also boasts a beach (pagee) an island (Carbarita Island) and a beautiful winding coastline.
St. Mary Parish Church
The St. Mary Parish Church sits at the west end of Port Maria, opposite the Port Maria Civic Centre. The Anglican Church was built in 1861 and has been well preserved. In 1987 the Church won an award for "Heritage in Architecture".
Port Maria Civic Centre
The Port Maria Civic Centre began life as the St Mary courthouse, a Georgian courthouse which was built in 1820. The building also housed the Port Maria police station and the Parish Council offices. It also had the dubious honour of playing host to the trial of Sir Alexander Bustamante. The courthouse suffered bad fire damage in 1988 and was subsequently rebuilt as the Port Maria Civic Centre in 2000. The Urban Development Corporation were responsible for commissioning the rebuilding and have gone to great lengths to ensure the new building is faithful to the Georgian style of the original. Outside of the courthouse is a monument to Tacky, the Maroon leader who led the Easter Rebellion of 1760.© 2008 Jamaica Travel and Culture .com